okay okay, I realize that the price of one is free… but I’ve read a bunch of books lately that I meant to review and I don’t want to drag it out and make three different posts for them, hence the three-in-one deal.

First is Anatomy of a Boyfriend by Daria Snadowsky.

This is a book about sex. And not the in the usual way where there’s a killer plotline and sex is woven into it either to add drama or as an integral part of the story. Well, there is a plotline but I would hardly call it a killer one.

It’s the story of Dominique, the barely-been-kissed high school senior and her first love. The two quickly progress from IM-ing all night to fooling around in the back of Wes’ car. Long story short: they go to prom, have sex afterwards, etc etc then go off to different colleges. Now here’s the part of the book where I thought there would be major drama and cheating boyfriends getting caught when the girlfriend pays a surprise visit or something. But there isn’t. There isn’t anything really, just Dom and Wes growing apart and another conveniently placed boy thrown in towards the end that you can tell is going to hook up with her right after she and Wes break up. So, yeah, the lack of anything but various descriptions of them screwing around made this book kind of unimpressive. I don’t know about you, but I like my characters to have some personality. Anatomy of a Boyfriend gets 3.5 undressed Ken dolls out of 7.

Next up: Project 17 by Laurie Faria Stolarz.

Have you ever wanted to break into a haunted mental hospital and film a movie in it? I’m going to assume that your response is “Hell yeah!” because that’s what I would say. Well, not really. I tend to go for abandoned amusement parks, personally.

Derik and his ragtag band of “actors”(I use that term very loosely) break into Danvers State Mental Hospital the night before it is due to be torn down. I did mention the place is haunted, right? So they run around seeing loads of creepy stuff. Like a doll hanging from a noose, singing a creepy song. And that’s just the beginning. Soon they get sucked right up into the fate of one of the hospital’s ghosts.

I don’t want to give anything away, so I’ll just say that this book was a cool one. All of the characters are really… real. They all have their own reasons for going along with Derik’s plan, and often misjudge each other’s motivations. Which is awesome because I hate flat characters. Okay, so 5 out of 7 on that one.

Almost done, guys. Wow, when I started, I didn’t think the post would be so long… ah well. I’ll keep the last one short, I promise. It’s for Marked by Kristin and P.C. Cast.

Pretty much your run-of-the-mill vamp story. Girl gets turned into a vampire, has to go to vampire academy, falls in love with super hot vamp boy, has to defeat leader of evil vampire chicks who summons ghosties on Halloween. Nothing really amazing here. It just felt like a bunch of books I’ve read before smooshed into one.

3 out of 7 glasses of wine spiked with vampire blood. Yummy…

So there you have it. Believe it or not, I still have more books to review, but I didn’t want to overload anyone. There is such a thing as too much of a good thing, after all. Expect more reviews later this week. Of better books, too…

~Medeia~